Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rich Man, Poor Man - do your research ...

With the soccer hype hitting SA, I don't think many are reading our forum currently, but for the hard core supporters (of COINS not soccer!) here are some observations ....

I am not a ZAR collector but have done some research on prices realized for graded ZAR coins over the last 3 or 4 months on Bid-or-Buy (NGC and PCGS graded coins)

I observed some really LARGE fluctuations on the SAME grades - some bidders surely lost out OR others scored big time - I would not know as, like I said, I am not a ZAR expert or collector ...

Look at this ...

ZAR Three Pence (3d) 1893 MS62 = R17 850 and another one sold for R14 600 - difference on the SAME grade coin of R3250 - a difference of 22%

ZAR Three Pence (3d) 1895 AU 50 = R2500 and another one for R4870 = the difference on the SAME grade coin of R2370 - a difference of 94%

ZAR Shilling 1892 VF35 = R1410 and another one for R500, a difference on the SAME grade coin of R910 = the difference being 180%

ZAR Shilling 1894 XF45 = R1050 and another one for R2400 - a difference of R1350 - the difference being 128%

ZAR Half Crown 1892 XF40 = R1453 and another one for R3100 - a difference of R1647 - the difference being 113%

ZAR Half Crown 1895 XF40 = R3030 and another one for R5161 - a difference of R2131 - the difference being 70%

ZAR Half Pond 1894 XF45= R4001 and another one for R6000 - a differnce of R1999 - the difference being 50%

ZAR Pond 1894 XF40 = R3951 and another one for R6048 - a difference of R2097 the difference being 53%

So from a few examples I tracked over a few months on Bid-or-Buy, the prices realized for coins in EXACTLY THE SAME GRADE had differences (top and bottom price for the SAME graded COIN) of: 22%, 94%, 180%, 128%, 113%, 70%, 50% and 53%.