No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• *** Shipwreck Coins - Artefacts & Memorabilia ***

Hello Everyone

I thought we could start something interesting. I am NO expert on this subject, but I do love shipwreck coins and artefacts. The South African coastline graces some very popular shipwrecks.

How about the forum members posting stories, articles, pictures etc from their collection or other sources. I am sure there are many avid wreck divers and collectors out there that could make this an interesting post.

Maybe ADMIN could make it a STICKY.....

Lets get it rolling Guys....... Geejay..... Pierre Henri.... Herman.... I know you guys love ShipWreck.....

Cheers
    Last edited by Coinoisseur; 26-05-14, 11:26.
    Anthony G
    The measure of a numismatist is not how much he profits from the hobby,
    but how much the hobby profits from him.

The following is an article taken from Bloomburg. Its the latest wreck discovered of the Namibian coast in April 2008. De Beers were the company digging when they discovered it. They have now stopped all operations at this site. This is one hell of a find with a load of treasure.

April 30 (Bloomberg) -- De Beers, the world's biggest undersea diamond miner, said its geologists in Namibia found the wreckage of an ancient sailing ship still laden with treasure, including six bronze cannons, thousands of Spanish and Portuguese gold coins and more than 50 elephant tusks.
    The wreckage was discovered in the area behind a sea wall used to push back the Atlantic Ocean in order to search for diamonds in Namibia's Sperrgebiet or ``Forbidden Zone.''
    ``If the experts' assessments are correct, the shipwreck could date back to the late 1400s or early 1500s, making it a discovery of global significance,'' Namdeb Diamond Corp., a joint venture between De Beers and the Namibian government, said in an e-mailed statement from the capital, Windhoek, today.