No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hardness treatment ???

Hi All

Can anyone (maybe Lukeness) enlighten me on what a treatment a sapphire would undergo for "hardness" as I haven't come across that before ?

See attached link for a 38ct pink sapphire, read Q&A from seller.
    Sapphires - Stunning 38.00 Carat Pink Sapphire for sale in Isipingo

The sapphire does not look natural either

Hi, If it is a natural Sapphire and Burmese I would buy 10!!!! Good luck. David.:o
    My age is but an irrelevant number !
    Items I am selling.

Comment

That's a cubic zirconia... ;) synthetic and man made, you can tell just by looking at the pic!

Comment

Thanks guys, thought as much. But out of interest, is there such a thing as hardness treatment ?

Comment

I am still a novice, but I think the type of "treatment" mainly affects the Gemstones colour and could have an limited effect on the hardness...not sure.....we need Lukeness again!
          Regards David.
          My age is but an irrelevant number !
          Items I am selling.

Comment

No, glass can be hardened not gemstones.

Simply there is no "hardness" treatment at all ;) I'm certain luke will confirm :)

Comment

Originally posted by GemDeals View Post
              No, glass can be hardened not gemstones.

Simply there is no "hardness" treatment at all ;) I'm certain luke will confirm :)
              This is all I can find, but I believe it would most likely only be used on soft gems not Sapphires nor Rubies so the seller is talking BS and they are all lab created. If you think about it they can create gems so I would not put it past them to create a hardner

I also found this on the net: I have come across several references that mention the application of a boron coating as an effective way of increasing the hardness of
              diamonds.