Collapse
No announcement yet.
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Accumulation in household

When i recently moved i have found that although i have been clearing out house for the past 10 years that my home is still cluttered. It makes me think of places where homes are sold with the furniture. And when they do buy new furniture, the old are left on the sidewalk for ones who have need for them.

Now the same happened with me. I had a a few old pieces of furniture which couldn't fit into the new place. I really wanted to leave it on the sidewalk for people who need it, but i ended up in loading it on a bakkie and driving it to the dumps. There it was grabbed up by people working at the dumps.

The reasons why i decided not to leave it on the sidewalk :

It attracted the attention of people who do not like to work and think that walking the streets and begging is the only way to make a living.

South Africa got one of the highest security problems in the world. Moving home is like a open invitation for them to break in, since the new comers do not know of the soft spots as yet.

And believe me - I was not the only one who rather took things to the dumps.
    Items for sale: http://www.bidorbuy.co.za/seller/1016532/Whitewolf

You'd be amazed at what people salvage at the dumps. And the money that can be made from other people's "junk".

We have a wonderful set up here in Hermanus. "The Swap Shop". Items are donated to the shop which is situated in our informal housing area - Zwehile. Residents then collect recyclables (glass, plastic, paper etc) which are weighed. They are then awarded with a valued token. The token is then swapped for necessities or luxuries.

Brilliant idea, as the area is cleaned up and the needy receive things they otherwise may not be able to afford.

Sadly some of the collectors are only 5 years old. Most of these little ones "laybye" on shoes and clothes. Sweets and other luxuries are not the "hot" items.

Photo courtesy of Manor News